Skip to content

Sautéed Broccolini

March 24, 2009

broccolini1

Sometimes broccoli just doesn’t do it.  A lot of the time, I get a certain nose turned up at me when I mention broccoli.  I happen to love broccoli.  Steamed, blanched, raw, roasted, gratin…I’m really not picky.  My other half is.  And after my disturbing attempt at broccoli rabe I was a little leary about trying anything else with green stalks and florets.  However, it’s been a while since I’ve done a BB BRC recipe and I felt like I owed it to the group.  Or at least to the BRC winner.  Or at the very least, to myself.

So as the perfect opportunity presented itself to make this broccolini, I jumped at it: this would be a great side for the chicken piccata, March’s 1st BB recipe.  And I was right.  The broccolini was simple to throw together, even while I was in the middle of a Skype session cooking the chicken, and it turned out better than I could have hoped for!  I skipped the lemon zest, added a few extra squeezes of lemon juice, and reduced the butter a wee bit.  The garlicky lemony flavor was just wonderful and it’s something I’ve already got on my menu to pair up with pork chops this week.

broccolini2

A great big thanks goes out to Mary of Meet Me in the Kitchen, one of March’s two BRC recipe choosers for choosing this fabulous, quick and easy recipe!!!

Note: I know some BB members had some issues finding broccolini in their grocery stores but many (including myself) were able to find it near the fresh herbs, not near the broccoli.

Sautéed Broccolini

source: Ina Garten

  • 1 bunch broccolini
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 lemon, zested
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  1. Blanch the broccolini in a large pot of boiling salted water for 2 minutes. Drain immediately and immerse in a bowl of ice water.
  2. Melt the butter in a large saute pan. Add the lemon zest and garlic and stir. Drain the broccolini and add it to the garlic mixture and heat for 2 minutes. Add the lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon salt and the pepper, and toss well before serving.
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 1:49 am

    Some Korean restaurants make little dishes with broccolini,
    It tastes great no matter what!

Leave a comment