Skip to content

BB: Jam Thumbprint Cookies

April 22, 2010

When I say I’ve been wanting to make these cookies for over 5 years, I’m not kidding.  Seriously, I printed this recipe off of FoodNetwork long before I knew the power of Ina’s recipes…long before I purchased any of her cookbooks…long before I was blogging…long before blogging was “in.”  The printed recipe somehow got lost in the shuffle of paperwork, made the move from our old house to this one, and periodically reappears in said paperwork when I’m looking for something or sorting through the “stuff.” For whatever reason, the recipe has yet to make it to the kitchen and into my rotation and I subsequently forget about it until I open up Family Style and remind myself that I need to make these cookies.  It never got done until this week.

And now I’m kicking myself for waiting so long because these were some of the best cookies I’ve ever eaten.  And if you love shortbread as much as I do, you’ll agree with me. It took all I had in me not to keep eating these yesterday!  I wasn’t too sure about rolling the dough balls in coconut but I’m so glad I decided to because the toasted coconut added such a depth of flavor to the shortbread and jam that I was overwhelmed with delight.  As for the jam…of course there are tons of different flavors you can use.  Ina recommends raspberry and apricot, neither of which I had so I used strawberry and orange marmalade.  Now, I’m a full-on strawberry jam kind of girl but honestly, I didn’t love it in these cookies and I feel like the flavor almost got lost in the shortbread and coconut.  The marmalade on the other hand, was outstanding!  I know that some lemon or orange zest in the dough would be fantastic since the citrus jam “pops” amongst the other flavors.

Many many thanks to Cassandra of Foodie with Little Thyme for forcing me into finally making these fantastic little cookies!

Jam Thumbprint Cookies

source: Ina Garten, Barefoot Contessa Family Style

  • 3/4 pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash
  • 7 ounces sweetened flaked coconut
  • Raspberry and/or apricot jam
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter and sugar until they are just combined and then add the vanilla. Separately, sift together the flour and salt. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture to the creamed butter and sugar. Mix until the dough starts to come together. Dump on a floured board and roll together into a flat disk. Wrap in plastic and chill for 30 minutes.
  3. Roll the dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. (If you have a scale they should each weigh 1 ounce.) Dip each ball into the egg wash and then roll it in coconut. Place the balls on an ungreased cookie sheet and press a light indentation into the top of each with your finger. Drop 1/4 teaspoon of jam into each indentation. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the coconut is a golden brown. Cool and serve.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 9:20 am

    we make these at christmas… they are really good!! i like using Dark Cherry Jam 🙂 I haven’t tried marmalade though, I bet its fab!

  2. April 22, 2010 3:52 pm

    These were sooo good, but my batch was a disaster – I only got like 8 cookies out of it. Going to try again this weekend and see if I can figure out where I went wrong

  3. April 22, 2010 6:07 pm

    mmm. I bet the coconut is awesome in these cookies! We have a family recipe for these raspberry bars with coconut that we always have on Passover, and they are a real favorite.

  4. May 3, 2010 4:49 pm

    Those cookies look so great. I would want them with a taste of peanut butter on top too!

Leave a comment