Skip to content

Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins

October 10, 2009

oatmealbluerrymuffins

I for one sometimes need a little lightening up especially after making two different kinds of cake in the past month. So when the guilt is running a little high, I turn to a muffin like this for breakfast.  They are light, moist, and packed with flavor…things one wouldn’t necessarily expect from a muffin containing whole wheat flour and applesauce.  But these muffins will surprise you.  They certainly surprised both of us and we fell in love with them.  I know I’ve said before here that I’ve found my go-to blueberry muffin recipe but now there’s some competition, especially since these are only 4 WW Points!

Oatmeal Blueberry Applesauce Muffins

source: adapted from Joy the Baker

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup low-fat buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup blueberries (fresh are highly recommended)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper cases or spray with nonstick cooking spray. I simple greased and floured a muffin pan, saving the paper.
  3. In a large bowl combine flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a medium bowl combine applesauce, buttermilk, sugar, oil and egg. Make a well in dry ingredients and add applesauce mixture. Stir until just moist. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.
  4. Bake for 16-18 minutes.

Yields 12-15 muffins.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 11:03 am

    How funny!! I just made these but I found them on a different website and chose to sub blueberries for the raisins the recipe called for! Here I thought I was so crafty lol! I am posting them next week… they were so tasty!

  2. Annie permalink
    October 10, 2009 7:58 pm

    I love these things! I’ve been thinking of making them again soon.

  3. October 14, 2009 7:34 pm

    Thanks for the recommendation. If you don’t mind, I will share a link to this post on my school blog. I’m always looking for recipes to share so kids won’t be eating so much junk….they come with bags of potato chips and their venti Starbucks frapuccinos:( I host a weekly blog event called Crock Pot Wednesday and would love for you to join me.

  4. October 15, 2009 7:32 am

    These look delicious and healthy 🙂 Thanks for posting this recipe – I hope to make it for breakfast sometime

  5. October 17, 2009 10:26 am

    I made these muffins just now and ate the first one. Oh my, they are good! I did add about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and I didn’t use the whole wheat flour cause I didn’t have any. My husband is now on his third one!

    Thanks for the recipe!

  6. October 20, 2009 12:14 am

    omg, my mouth literally started watering when I saw the pictures of these. I love homemade muffins, and these look soft and just so tasty. I work with Del Monte and if you’re looking to expand on your desserts, we have a lot of recipes out that are made from our Fruit Chillers, frozen treats made from natural fruits. We have different flavors, and the Fruit Chillers are great on their own as well :). If you’re interested, check out our website and browse through the recipes yourself!

    http://bit.ly/6IHrg

Trackbacks

  1. Cinnamon Applesauce «

Leave a comment