Skip to content

Chipotle-Honey-Glazed Chicken

July 16, 2009

June 2009 6 003

THIS is the recipe that sold me on purchasing Bobby Flay’s Grill It! A few of the recipes definitely caught my eye that day in the bookstore while I flipped through the book but this was the recipe that made need this cookbook.  I wasn’t crazy about making wings so boneless skinless breasts it was.  And this recipe certainly did not disappoint. You know sometimes when eating spicy food that you can’t taste anything because it’s just so spicy?  Well you won’t find that here. It was sweet and spicy – most definitely spicy – but the rest of the flavors really came through and the chipotles didn’t overpower at all.

As far as the ingredient list goes, it’s a little on the long side, but I’d bet that most people have most of what’s needed in their pantries already.  The one spice I was missing was the ancho chili powder and since there have been a few recipes I’ve passed over because I didn’t have any, I decided it was time to invest.  I figured that there was a reason why recipes called for ancho rather than regular chili powder and I’m so glad to have finally made the leap after being so freaked out about a little spicy heat in my food for so long.  I absolutely adored this dish – and so did my stuffed-up-allergy-ridden sinuses!

~~~

Two Years Ago: Baked Pasta with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cheese, Chicken Parm, and Crunchy Noodle Salad

~~~

Chipotle-Honey-Glazed Chicken

source: adapted from Bobby Flay, Grill It!, page 79; Serves 4

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp pureed canned chipotle chilies in adobo
  • 1 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp ancho chili powder
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp Spanish paprika
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded to 1/2″ thickness
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tsp chopped chives
  1. Heat your grill to high.
  2. Whisk together the honey, chipotle puree, mustard, 1 tbsp ancho powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tbsp oil in a small bowl.
  3. Stir together the remaining ancho powder with the coriander, cumin, and paprika in another medium bowl.  Add the chicken breasts, the remaining oil, and toss to coat.  Season with a little salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  4. Place the chicken on the grill and grill for 3-4 minutes.  Flip the chicken and brush the pieces with the honey-chipotle sauce.  Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes.  Flip the chicken again and brush the other side with the sauce; cook for 1 more minute.    Flip once more and cook for another minute. Remove chicken from the grill and brush on more sauce as desired. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, cilantro, and chives before serving.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 7:12 pm

    :::drools:::

    That.
    Looks.
    PERFECT.

  2. Annie permalink
    July 16, 2009 7:26 pm

    Yumyumyum. This looks awesome! Too bad I can never find chipotles in adobo anywhere! I think I just don’t know where to look, but I can NEVER find them!

    • smellslikehome permalink*
      July 16, 2009 7:36 pm

      Annie, I recently (and finally!) found them in the Mexican food section near the canned diced chilies. Let me know if you ever want me to send you a few cans!

  3. July 16, 2009 11:20 pm

    OH! Darn… I’m so sorry to have missed your blog, all this time! I’m having a blast going through your different posts…

    I’m really not happy about the fact that you are not stated in the TWD list… I would have discovered you way sooner!

    P.s.: Not to defeit the purpose, I’m keeping this scrumptious recipe in my “to do” list… always looking for new ways to make chicken, and chipotle being one of my favorite flavouring… Mmmm… I’m sure it’ll be a winner! Thanks!

  4. July 16, 2009 11:21 pm

    Cannot wait to try thid one – looks so incredible!

  5. July 20, 2009 7:36 pm

    We love chipotle anything in this house. This looks wonderful. I bet it would be great as a taco or burrito as well!

  6. March 30, 2010 9:56 pm

    We made this last night and it was good. This was our fist time cooking with chipotles – good and smoky flavor. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I love Bobby Flay.

Trackbacks

  1. Chipotle-Honey Glazed Chicken « Skinny Food By Amy

Leave a comment