Skip to content

Spritz Cookies

January 4, 2009

december-2008-020

Although this is a little late, I couldn’t resist not posting about these cookies.  I received a cookie press (or cookie gun as I’ve always referred to it) from my Secret Santa from my cooking website this year – the BEST gift I could have asked for!!  I can’t tell you how many times I had to restrain myself from buying myself one with those oh-so-tempting 50% off coupons Michael’s was offering before Christmas. But I resisted, hoping that I would receive one for Christmas.  I totally didn’t expect that it would come before Christmas so you could imagine my excitement when I opened up the box and I realized that I could make the cookies and add them to my Christmas goodie packages.  I proceeded to make them the next morning and sacrificed an hour of my work day because of it…so sad about that, let me tell you.

december-2008-021

Anywho, I had a blast making these.  The gun was a dream to work with and I was so pleased with the results; with both the taste of the cookies and how the shapes turned out. I’ll definitely be using this little toy again and I’m going to look into what other recipes I can use it for.

december-2008-025

Classic Spritz Cookies

source: Wilton

Yields: 7-8 dozen

  • 1 1/2 cups butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond 1/4 tsp orange extract
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Thoroughly cream butter and sugar.  Add egg, milk, vanilla and almond extract; beat well.  Stir together flour and baking powder; gradually add to creamed mixture, mixing to make a smooth dough.  Do not chill.  Place dough into cookie press and press cookies onto greased cookie sheets.  Bake 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned around edges.  Remove cookies from sheet, cook on rack.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    January 4, 2009 10:53 pm

    These look so cute and SO delicious! I’m definitely going to need a cookie press sometime – maybe for next Christmas 🙂

  2. January 5, 2009 4:40 pm

    I remember making these with my babysitter growing up. She had the cookie gun.

  3. whatsonmyplate permalink
    January 5, 2009 10:00 pm

    A cookie press DOES sound like the best gift ever. I can see myself having months of fun with one!

    Tonya
    http://whatsonmyplate.wordpress.com

  4. joelen permalink
    January 6, 2009 9:31 am

    How adorable! Looks like great spritz cookies and I shouldn’t have sold mine spritzer awhile back. Hopefully I’ll make it next year!

Leave a Reply

