Skip to content

BB: Herb Roasted Onions

November 13, 2008

dsc02745

I think the group will agree with me when I say that while October’s recipes were deliciously fabulous, they were definitely time consuming…which is fine and good because some things are just worth waiting for. However, from the point of view of a full-time working wife, it just isn’t practical for me to be standing at the stove on a weeknight stirring risotto for an hour. The weekends making cooking recipes like this slightly easier which is why I try to devote my weekend cooking to Ina but sometime it just doesn’t work out that way.

Either way, when Kelly told me that her November recipe choice was herb roasted onions (from Barefoot Contessa at Home), I breathed a sigh of relief. And I’m sure I wasn’t the only BB who did so. So a big thanks goes out to Kelly of Baking with the Boys for choosing a weeknight-friendly recipe!!

dsc02747

Ha. So I actually made the onions this past Sunday with a roast chicken…which is impossible for me to cook on a weeknight…but these onions just screamed, “Serve me with roast chicken!!” I heard them say it. I swear. So in the last 35 minutes of the chicken cooking, I prepped the onions and threw them in the oven with the chicken – 5 minutes tops to prep them. Love it!

These onions were fantastic!! They were a little sweet. And a little savory. The perfect combo for me. I was slightly leery about the mustard since Kyle believes mustard should only be served on hot dogs but I forged ahead and used the whole amount (note that the recipe in Barefoot Contessa at Home is double the recipe listed below). But to both of our surprises, the mustard was a very subtle flavor and definitely was needed in the whole scheme of the recipe. Actually, I loved the flavor so much that I tried to pick the pieces off of the tin foil just to savor it a little longer. For shame. These babies will definitely make a re-appearance soon in this house. Weekend OR weeknight.

dsc027461

If you haven’t done so recently, you must go check out how the other 110+ Barefoot Bloggers did with their herb roasted onions this week!! Thanks again to Kelly!!

Herb Roasted Onions

source: Ina Garten, Barefoot Contessa at Home, page 156

  • 2 red onions
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup good olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced fresh parsley leaves
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Remove the stem end of each onion and carefully slice off the brown part of the root end, leaving the root intact. Peel the onion. Stand each onion root end up on a cutting board and cut the onion in wedges through the root. Place the wedges in a bowl.
  3. For the dressing, combine the lemon juice, mustard, garlic, thyme, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Slowly whisk in the olive oil. Pour the dressing over the onions and toss well.
  4. With a slotted spoon, transfer the onions to a sheet pan, reserving the vinaigrette that remains in the bowl. Bake the onions for 30 to 45 minutes, until tender and browned. Toss the onions once during cooking. Remove from the oven, and drizzle with the reserved dressing. Sprinkle with parsley, season to taste and serve warm or at room temperature.
12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 8:40 am

    Looks great.

  2. November 13, 2008 9:22 am

    Yours look nice and caramelized! This was a great recipe especially for me, a newbie:)

  3. November 13, 2008 10:49 am

    Wow, these look delicious! Can’t wait to try them. I’m running a little behind. 😉

  4. November 13, 2008 11:18 am

    I loved them too! I actually made the chicken picata that Ina made with them on the show (I looked it up online). It was definately fabulous… the most labor UNintensive part of the entire meal.
    ~Cat

  5. November 13, 2008 12:56 pm

    I agree – these were fabulous! I’m thinking of adding them for our Thanksgiving dinner.

  6. November 13, 2008 1:32 pm

    Your pictures are great!

  7. Kelly D permalink
    November 13, 2008 1:59 pm

    Tara – I am glad you liked them. I love the color of yours. Next time I think I will do mine about 5 minutes longer.

  8. November 13, 2008 2:24 pm

    We all loved it too. Mind you I’m yet to hit a recipe I didn’t enjoy. Your photos are gorgeous.

  9. November 13, 2008 5:24 pm

    I think the onions would have been great with roasted chicken. I served mine with boston butt and that was good too! Yours look delicious.

  10. November 13, 2008 6:59 pm

    Looks good! I agree these will be back..

  11. November 13, 2008 11:37 pm

    It’s funny, they look like roasted garlic!

  12. November 16, 2008 8:34 am

    Totally agree on the chicken thing – I did the same thing!
    Yours held together much better than mine did, it seems…

Leave a Reply

