Skip to content

A Week with the Barefoot Contessa

August 10, 2008

Since I goofed and forgot to give Kyle his registration information from the DMV way back in June until 2 weeks after the registration for his pick-up expired, I was without a car yesterday because he had some side work to do (he’s an electrician). So that conveniently left me with plenty of time to plan a menu for next week’s meals…something that I’ve been too lax with the past few weeks which has lead to me not want to cook anything.

I took out 3 of the cookbooks I’ve been neglecting (did I mention my newest addition? The Martha Stewart Living Cookbook: The New Classics that I picked up on sale in Williams-Sonoma a few weeks ago for just $14.99!!) and as I was going through them writing down meals for next week, a pattern start to emerge. In addition to the butterflied chicken I’ll be making tonight for the second of August’s Barefoot Bloggers challenges, every other meal contained an Ina recipe. Without reluctance, I decided to stick with the menu as it had evolved and am calling this week A Week with the Barefoot Contessa, where everyday I will bring you a new Ina recipe. And with this public commitment, I will not have any excuses to stray from my menu, as I usually do.

So in no particular order, here is my menu for the week (Ina recipes in pink):

  • Banana Crunch Muffins (Sunday morning)
  • Butterflied Chicken with Roast Carrots and Roasted Potatoes
  • Panzanella
  • Pork Chops with Spinach in a Puff Pastry
  • Roasted Tomato-Basil Soup and Fontina Basil Roasted Red Pepper Panini
  • Turkey Meatloaf with Parmesan Smashed Potatoes
3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 1:14 pm

    I am so excited to see your creations this week – I love Ina and have most of her cookbooks!!

  2. August 11, 2008 8:20 pm

    How exciting, I can’t wait to see how everything turns out! Two of the recipes you are making were ones I was thinking about for my round of BB and I have been eyeing the banana muffins for quite some time too. I’m looking forward to your updates 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. BB BRC: Chicken Chili «

Leave a Reply

