Skip to content

Barefoot Bloggers: Herbed-Baked Eggs

May 29, 2008

OK, I need to start this post off by saying how incredibly excited I am to be posting my first Barefoot Bloggers recipe…I’m just about bursting at the seams with excitement! The group is up to 42 members after having been born just a week ago – amazing! I’m truly looking forward to cooking and baking Ina’s recipes along with these wonderful people, all of which are in love with all things Ina just as much as I am.

Herbed-Baked Eggs. Is it breakfast, lunch, or dinner? We as Americans eat our eggs for breakfast and on those special nights where so many of us eat breakfast for dinner. The French on the other hand, typically do not eat eggs for breakfast but opt for flaky crossaints or delectable pastries…with a strong demi-tasse of course. Being that this recipe comes from Barefoot in Paris, I considered going the French route and making them for dinner, which is how Ina intended them to be eaten, but opted to make them for breakfast. I figured the herb mixture would be a nice change to our usual eggy breakfast.

From the comments in the Musings post, I was fully ready for runny eggs…and I just couldn’t bring myself to eat them that way. There have been many a time where I’ve pushed my plate away after picking through runny eggs (the white part – not the yolk) to eat the cooked portion. So, essentially, I cooked the hell out of these eggs for fear that the whites would be runny. I broiled them as instructed for 5-6 minutes and then baked them at 425 for another 5-7 minutes. Yeah, way too long in the oven. The yolks were fully cooked which wasn’t a huge deal because the whites were fully cooked too, which is what I was going for. The herb mixture, however, was just delicious. I skipped the parsley because my grocery store was out of it (???) but the combo of the garlic, Parmesan cheese, thyme, and rosemary along with the eggs was truly a delight. Because I don’t [yet] own gratin dishes, I used shallow rimmed soup bowls that are broiler safe. I’ll definitely make these again but next time bake them first then broil them to brown the top.

To see how all of the other Barefoot Bloggers did with their Herbed-Baked Eggs, check out the Who’s Turn Is It? page.

~~~~~~

June’s recipes:

For Thursday June 12th: Pasta, Pesto, and Peas as chosen by Elizabeth of Ugg Smell Food

For Thursday June 26th: Parmesan Chicken as chosen by Megan of My Baking Adventures

~~~~~~

Herbed-Baked Eggs

source: Ina Garten, Barefoot in Paris (2004)

Yields: 2 servings

  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan
  • 6 extra-large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Toasted French bread or brioche, for serving
  1. Preheat the broiler for 5 minutes and place the oven rack 6 inches below the heat.
  2. Combine the garlic, thyme, rosemary, parsley, and Parmesan and set aside. Carefully crack 3 eggs into each of 2 small bowls or teacups (you won’t be baking them in these) without breaking the yolks. (It’s very important to have all the eggs ready to go before you start cooking.)
  3. Place 2 individual gratin dishes on a baking sheet. Place 1 tablespoon of cream and 1/2 tablespoon of butter in each dish and place under the broiler for about 3 minutes, until hot and bubbly. Quickly, but carefully, pour 3 eggs into each gratin dish and sprinkle evenly with the herb mixture, then sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper. Place back under the broiler for 5 to 6 minutes, until the whites of the eggs are almost cooked. (Rotate the baking sheet once if they aren’t cooking evenly.) The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven. Allow to set for 60 seconds and serve hot with toasted bread.
22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2008 1:14 pm

    Looks yummy!

  2. May 29, 2008 1:28 pm

    Looks fantastic Tara! I’m thinking of making this sometime this weekend… šŸ™‚

  3. May 29, 2008 1:34 pm

    Thanks for starting this group! 6 minutes in my broiler cooked the eggs completely through. Funny how broilers are so different.

  4. May 29, 2008 1:41 pm

    Looks like they came out great and you were able to enjoy them the way you like! Seeing all the posts makes me want to eat them for dinner again tonight! Thanks for starting such a great group!

  5. May 29, 2008 1:43 pm

    Thanks for starting the group and for picking such an easy, delicious recipe to begin!

  6. May 29, 2008 2:42 pm

    Oh they look fantastic! I love how evenly browned yours got!

  7. May 29, 2008 4:53 pm

    Can’t wait to try these tomorrow! Gorgeous pics!

  8. May 29, 2008 8:27 pm

    Hey Tara – this was a great choice – and a big hit in my house. Awesome group, and looking forward to the next dish!!

  9. May 29, 2008 9:43 pm

    I love this group! Thanks for starting it! The eggs were amazing! Yours look perfect!

  10. May 29, 2008 10:57 pm

    Wow Tara, your eggs are beautiful! Thanks again for picking a great recipe and a fun new event to look forward to!

  11. Melissa permalink
    May 30, 2008 10:01 am

    Thanks for starting this group Tara! Your pictures are beautiful!

  12. kdgreen permalink
    May 30, 2008 10:50 am

    I thought I was alone in my runny egg aversion but not so! Great first choice. It made a nice lunch for me this week.

  13. May 30, 2008 11:03 am

    Thanks again for starting the group! Looking forward to more great recipes!

  14. May 30, 2008 12:01 pm

    I don’t like my eggs runny either! I always overcook them a bit for that reason

  15. jbw1203 permalink
    May 30, 2008 12:26 pm

    your egg turned out beautiful šŸ™‚

  16. May 30, 2008 1:52 pm

    you’ve been tagged! Check my blog!

    loveyoumeanit!

  17. May 30, 2008 2:03 pm

    haha! lalalalalala!! šŸ˜‰

  18. May 31, 2008 2:21 am

    Ina would be so proud of you – you did her recipe justice – looks gorgeous and I’ll bet it’s incredible to eat too.

  19. June 2, 2008 2:29 pm

    Hi Tara – I’ve tagged you!!
    mybakingadventures.com

  20. May 12, 2009 10:07 pm

    Tara – just made this one as the Backtrack recipe this month – great pick. I should have read your post first so I wouldn’t have ended up with runny whites but they were good anyway.

Trackbacks

  1. Breakfast in France « Smells Like Home
  2. Peanut Butter Ice Cream «

Leave a Reply

