Skip to content

Baked Ziti

August 19, 2009

July 2009 3 007

There comes a time every summer when I start dreaming about fall and all the wonderful foods that come along with the cooler weather.  Inevitably, I give in and crank up the oven in order to put some of that food on our summer table.  I guess it didn’t help that for weeks earlier this summer the temperature here in New England didn’t rise out of the 70s (and some days not out of the 50s!) so cooking hot food actually felt good in the beginning of July.  The choice of what to make was an easy one.  I saw Annie post this awesome-looking baked ziti and I immediately put it on my list.

July 2009 3 005

Well this ziti did not disappoint.  It was, in fact, absolutely incredible!  I added the ground turkey as Annie had suggested which I don’t think was part of the original recipe but definitely was a great addition.  I was able to sneak the cottage cheese into the dish without Kyle seeing it and he had no idea it was cottage cheese instead of ricotta – love that!    We seriously couldn’t have polished off way more of it in one sitting that we did but managed to save the leftovers for a few dinners and lunches during the remainder of the week.  And what great leftovers this ziti made!  There’s nothing like actually looking forward to eating leftovers!  I’m not going to post the recipe here so you can head over to Annie’s Eats for the recipe written as I made it.  The only think you should be aware of is that the recipe does take some time to make but the end result is worth every single minute of prep time. Enjoy!!

~~~

One year ago: Turkey Meatloaf and Parmesan Smashed Potatoes

~~~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie permalink
    August 19, 2009 10:42 am

    I’m so glad you guys enjoyed this! It’s definitely one of my faves.

  2. August 19, 2009 10:59 pm

    This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers